God’s Judgement on Christo-Paganism

Zephaniah 1:
2 “I will sweep away everything
from the face of the earth,”
declares the Lord.
3 “I will sweep away both man and beast;
I will sweep away the birds in the sky
and the fish in the sea—
and the idols that cause the wicked to stumble.”

“When I destroy all mankind
on the face of the earth,”
declares the Lord,
4 “I will stretch out my hand against Judah
and against all who live in Jerusalem.
I will destroy every remnant of Baal worship in this place,
the very names of the idolatrous priests—
5 those who bow down on the roofs
to worship the starry host,
those who bow down and swear by the Lord
and who also swear by Molek,
6 those who turn back from following the Lord
and neither seek the Lord nor inquire of him.”

Matthew Henry’s Commentary

Ruin is coming, utter ruin; destruction from the Almighty. The servants of God all proclaim, There is no peace for the wicked. The expressions are figurative, speaking every where desolation; the land shall be left without inhabitants. The sinners to be consumed are, the professed idolaters, and those that worship Jehovah and idols (on the day they call “Christmas”), or swear to the Lord, and to Malcham. Those that think to divide their affections and worship between God and idols (as they do on X Mass), will come short of acceptance with God; for what communion can there be between light and darkness (between Christ Jesus and Tammuz)? If Satan have half, he will have all; if the Lord have but half, He will have none. Neglect of God shows impiety and contempt. May none of us be among those who draw back unto perdition, but of those who believe to the saving of the soul.

Bears repeating: If Satan have half, he will have all; if the Lord have but half, He will have none.
Ed. note: parenthesis and bold mine.
http://bible.christiansunite.com/mhcc.cgi?b=Zep&c=1
http://www.biblegateway.com/passage/…

 

5 responses to “God’s Judgement on Christo-Paganism

  1. This can be inserted:
    “I also will laugh at your calamity; I will mock when your terror comes,
    When your terror comes like a storm, And your destruction comes like a whirlwind,
    When distress and anguish come upon you.
    “Then they will call on me, but I will not answer;
    They will seek me diligently, but they will not find me.
    Because they hated knowledge, and did not choose the fear of the LORD,
    They would have none of my counsel, and despised my every rebuke.
    Therefore they shall eat the fruit of their own way, and be filled to the full with their own fancies.” – Proverbs 1:26-31

    “He who is often rebuked, and hardens his neck,
    Will suddenly be destroyed, and that without remedy.” – Proverbs 29:1

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have been saying that the enchantments, beauty, and emotional attachments of these pagan holidays that Christians celebrate is blinding them. Last night, as I was reading a book on the Sermon on the Mount, something was said that struck me as true since I’ve come to experience it for myself:

    “The golden rule for understanding in spiritual matters is not intellect but obedience…if one wants insight into what Jesus teaches, one can only get it by obedience. If things are dark to us spiritually, it is because there is something we will not do. Intellectual darkness comes because of ignorance; spiritual darkness comes because of something I do not intend to do.”~ Oswald Chambers (this is not an endorsement of O.C. for further commentary in spiritual matters)

    Once I obeyed God’s Word (which was pretty much immediately after praying for God to show me all of the lies I was believing as truth) I received insights about the Israelites and their unlawful worship of God that is very much like what Christians are doing today with their X Mass, Easter and Lent and other “holy” days. Trust and Obey!

    Liked by 1 person

Your comment

