The Waning Authority of Christ in the Churches

Pilgrim’s Progress revisited - Christiana on the narrow way

.

I want to express my appreciation to awtozerclassics.com for publishing this work by A.W. Tozer.

Excerpts from this can also be found here at WordPress at Christ-Centered Christianity.

A WordPress French language version and some help from Google Translate introduced me to this work; it can be found at BÉRÉENNE ATTITUDE. (Merci!)

.

2 Corinthians 1:12

For our rejoicing is this, the testimony of our conscience, that in simplicity and godly sincerity, not with fleshly wisdom, but by the grace of God, we have had our conversation in the world, and more abundantly to you-ward.

.

The Waning Authority of Christ in the Churches

HERE IS THE BURDEN of my heart; and while I claim for myself no special inspiration I yet feel that this is also the burden of the Spirit.

If I know my own heart it is love alone that moves me to write this. What…

View original post 505 more words

3 responses to “The Waning Authority of Christ in the Churches

    • I had to reblog your post though I haven’t finished reading the article. I trust Tozer and I know you know how to exercise discernment even with a godly and educated man such as Tozer. But, mostly, I share this because I, as well as many of us, have seen a sloppy agape that contains little fear/reverence for God among many Christians, including pastors! Yes, even I have had to inspect my reverence for God. Still do…

      God bless you, Maria. You are one of my favorite bloggers. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      • Sherry, in the Christian and Missionary Alliance under whose ministry we heard and believed the Gospel, he is very admired – I hope he is taken seriously, but I don’t know and suspect not. As a young Christian in Alliance churches I read him, but now, after times of falling on my nose and desiring other things, I appreciate his ministry a lot. Yes, we must fear and reverence the Lord, but we are all like sheep! And as far as some pastors, they are not the real thing.

        Thank you so much for your encouragement!

        With a prayer for you and those you love and all you hope to do here,

        Maria

        Liked by 1 person

Your comment

